Willow Smith: Still Too Young?

Willow Smith, daughter of Will and Jada Pinkett Smith, is now in the limelight for showing off her new tongue piercing. The 11-year old, previously had rumors swirling around that she was bisexual (below is a picture of holding hands with another girl). With all this attention placed on her, it is no surprise that people will have harsh words for her and her parents.

I agree that 11 is too young to get a tongue piercing. I didn’t pierce my cartilage until I was 16, and I pierced my nose at 18. I understand the thrill and the desire to pierce and tattoo your body, but she’s still in middle school. She should wait for a little bit longer to continue putting holes in her body.

And what about her parents? I have been a fan of Will Smith since the Fresh Prince days, but what is he doing? His child may be acting out and he and Jada are not providing the necessary parental boundaries. We really don’t know what’s going on inside in Willow’s mind, she might just be going through the stages of wanting to grown up.

Her newest song that she’s been promoting, I Am Me, is a ballad of her just being herself. In the song she sings, “Your validation is just not that important to me,” and she’s definitely showing it. I’m all for being yourself, but Willow, don’t be in such a hurry to be grown up. You have all the time in the world for that.

Leave a Reply

